Skip to Content

Edward Hirsch

  • Genre: Poetry
  • Location: TBA
  • Time: 8:00pm
  • Date: May 12, 2016

EDWARD HIRSCH is a celebrated poet and tireless advocate for poetry. His first collection of poems, For the Sleepwalkers (1981), received the Delmore Schwartz Memorial Award from New York University and the Lavan Younger Poets Award from the Academy of American Poets. His second collection, Wild Gratitude (1986), won the National Book Critics Award.

Since then, he has published six additional books of poems: The Night Parade (1989), Earthly Measures (1994), On Love (1998), Lay Back the Darkness (2003), Special Orders (2008), and The Living Fire: New and Selected Poems (2010), which brings together thirty-five years of poems.

Hirsch is also the author of A Poet’s Glossary (2014), Poet’s Choice (2006), and How to Read a Poem and Fall in Love with Poetry (1999), the national bestseller. He is the editor of Theodore Roethke’s Selected Poems (2005) and co-editor of The Making of a Sonnet: A Norton Anthology (2008). He also edits The Writer’s World book series.

Hirsch taught for six years in the English Department at Wayne State University and seventeen years in the Creative Writing Program at the University of Houston. He is now president of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Skip to toolbar