Skip to Content

Starlin Poetry Prize

Glen and Miriam Starlin

Glen and Miriam Starlin

The Miriam McFall Starlin Poetry Prize was established in 1997 by the late Glenn Starlin. It was created as a gift to his wife, Miriam, who has been reading and writing poetry her entire life, beginning as a girl after her bedtime, using a flashlight under the covers. Her first volume of poems, Wait a Minute, was published in 2006.

This prize offers a promising poet the freedom to pursue writing in the summer between their first and second years in the MFA program.




by Miriam McFall Starlin (2006, Rev 2014)

by Miriam McFall Starlin (2006, Rev 2014)


First-year graduate students in the MFA Poetry Program in good standing and who will be returning for the following academic year are eligible to apply.


  • Cover Letter: explain how the prize will aid you in your writing
  • Manuscript: up to six (6) poems, typed using a 12-point standard font in black ink only on 8-1/2″ x 11″ white paper.

Manuscripts will not be returned and those that do not meet these guidelines will be disqualified.

Submission Deadline
Late Winter/early Spring term. Entries must be submitted to 108 Alder Building by noon of the deadline posted.

Selection & Award
This contest is judged by a committee of Creative Writing Program faculty poets chaired by the Program Director. The recipient is announced in Spring term.

All disbursements are made through Student Accounts (balances due may be subtracted from the award amount).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Skip to toolbar