Skip to Content

Logsdon Fiction Award

Richard and Juliette Logsdon

Richard and Juliette Logsdon

The Richard and Juliette Logsdon Fiction Scholarship is awarded to a second-year MFA student for work of exceptional merit. Richard Logsdon had himself won a writing award in 1971, the Sarah Harkness Kirby Award from the UO English Department for the best graduate student essay, and that validation boosted his self-esteem and confidence. The Logsdons want to do something similar for other students.

"Las Vegas Stories" by Richard Logsdon (2003)

Las Vegas Stories by Richard Logsdon (2003)

Richard Logsdon was Senior Editor for Red Rock Review, a literary journal published by the College of Southern Nevada that features works by poets and short story writers—both new and established.  In that position, he met current UO faculty member Ehud Havazelet, as well as former poetry professor Dorianne Laux and visiting poet Joe Millar. Inspired by them, he decided to sponsor a scholarship for the Creative Writing Program.  Since there was already a poetry prize (the Miriam McFall Starlin Poetry Prize) but no existing prizes in fiction, he chose to designate the Logsdon Scholarship as a fiction prize.

All returning graduate students in the MFA Fiction Program in good standing.


  • Cover Page: contestant’s full name, UO ID, address, phone, UO email, and title(s) of work submitted.
  • Manuscript Header: contestant’s UO ID (no name), title of work, and page number.
  • Manuscript Content: up to 50 pages of work (one short story or portions of a novel), single-sided, double-spaced type using a standard 12-point font in black ink only on 8-1/2″ x 11″ white paper.

Manuscripts will not be returned and those that do not meet these guidelines will be disqualified.

Submission Deadline
Late Winter/early Spring term. Entries must be submitted to 108 Alder Building by noon of the deadline posted.

Selection & Award
The winner of this contest is selected by the Creative Writing Program’s Director with input from the program’s Fiction faculty.

All disbursements are made through Student Accounts (balances due may be subtracted from the award amount).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Skip to toolbar