Skip to Content


  Page 1 of 5  Next Page »
November 7, 2017

Veach Releases Debut Collection

11/2017: Cindy Veach’s (MFA Poetry ’82) debut poetry collection, Gloved Against Blood, has been published by CavanKerry Press. (more…)

November 2, 2017

Poet and Professor Garrett Hongo publishes new essay collection

11/2017: Garrett Hongo has a new essay collection, The Mirror Diary, in the prestigious Poets on Poetry series from University of Michigan Press. (more…)

October 31, 2017

Ralph Salisbury, Poet and Former CRWR Program Director, Passes Away

10/2017: Ralph Salisbury, Professor Emeritus of Creative Writing and Literature, former director of the MFA in Creative Writing and editor-in-chief of the Northwest Review, passed away on October 9.


October 4, 2017

Award-winning Civil Twilight reviewed at Huffington Post

10/2017 – Jeffrey Schultz (MFA Poetry ’03) is a rare two-time winner of the National Poetry Series, receiving this prestigious award in 2013 for What Ridiculous Things We Could Ask of Each Other and again in 2016 for Civil Twilight. A new review of Civil Twilight is online now at

In his review of the collection, Ben Evans (MFA Poetry ‘13) praises the “fierce register” of Schultz’s work: “These poems double as historical and philosophical arguments. They go forth with serious purpose and succeed in offering both aesthetic and intellectual fulfillment.”

Jeff is a Visiting Assistant Professor of Creative Writing at Pepperdine/Seaver College in Malibu, California, where he served as Interim Director of Creative Writing (2014-2015). Ben is editor of Fogged Clarity (

April 6, 2017

Alum Publishes Second Collection

04/2017 – Elyse Fenton (MFA Poetry ’07) is the author of the poetry collections, Clamor—winner of the 2010 Dylan Thomas Prize, Cleveland State First Book Award and Bob Bush Memorial Award—and Sweet Insurgent (Saturnalia 2017), winner of the Alice Fay di Castagnola Prize. Her work has been published in The New York Times, Best New Poets, American Poetry Review, Pleiades, Brain, Child, and Prairie Schooner, and has been featured on NPR’s All Things Considered and PRI’s The World. She lives with her family in Portland, Oregon.

April 4, 2017

Karen Thompson Walker will join the faculty in Fall 2017

04/2017 – Karen Thompson Walker is the author of the novel The Age of Miracles, which was a New York Times bestseller and a finalist for the Barnes & Noble Discover Award, an Indies Choice Award, and a Goodreads Choice Award. Translated into 27 languages, it was named one of the best books of the year by the Financial Times, Publishers Weekly, People, O., The Oprah Magazine, Kirkus, and Amazon, and has been selected as a community read by several cities and universities.

In 2012, she gave a TED Talk about fear and the imagination at the annual TEDGlobal conference in Edinburgh. She previously worked as a book editor at Simon & Schuster and is a graduate of UCLA and Columbia. She is currently at work on her second novel.

A television series based on The Age of Miracles is being developed for AMC by Shawn Levy (producer of Netflix’s Stranger Things).

March 15, 2017

Phoebe Bright Wins APS fellowship from A Public Space

03/2017 – Phoebe Bright (MFA Fiction ’15): The A Public Space fellowship is a 6-month fellowship for new writers that includes mentorship from an established author, publication in the magazine, and contributor’s payment of $1,000. Phoebe was chosen from more than 1,000 submissions to work with established writers such as Jesmyn Ward, Jamel Brinkley and Sara Majka.

Click here for full article posted by A Public Space.

March 14, 2017

Visiting with Alum

03/2017 – Garrett Hongo gave readings and taught workshops at Vanderbilt, Tennessee, and Auburn last November (2016). It was a special treat to have reunions with Monica Brown (MFA Poetry ’11) at Tennessee and Tina Mozelle Braziel (MFA Poetry ’13) at Auburn.

Monica Brown & Garrett Hongo

Garrett Hongo & Tina Mozelle Braziel

Peñaloza in Caldera

03/2017 – Michelle Peñaloza (MFA Poetry ’11) was awarded a residency in Caldera, an artist retreat in Sisters, Oregon. She will be there through March 2017, then journey to Tuscany in April for another retreat at the Lemon Tree House Residencies in Camporsevoli, Italy. She stopped in Eugene before her drive from Seattle to Sisters for a brief reunion with Garret Hongo.

  Page 1 of 5  Next Page »

Skip to toolbar